What Is Fair Housing?

The Fair Housing Act was signed into law in 1968 by President Lyndon Johnson as an expansion to the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Since then, the Fair Housing Act has continued to protect families and individuals across America from housing discrimination.

Whether buying, renting, getting a mortgage, seeking housing assistance, or any other housing-related activity, individuals are protected under the law from discrimination. A housing provider is not allowed to deny residency to families or individuals who fall under any of the seven protected classes.

The 7 Protected Classes

  • Race
  • Color
  • Religion
  • National Origin
  • Sex
  • Disability
  • Familial Status

According to the Department of Housing of Urban Development, it is illegal to do any of the following based solely on status under the seven protected classes:

  • refusal to negotiate, rent, sell or list availability to housing
  • impose different pricing
  • discourage purchase or rental of property
  • refuse mortgage loans
  • harass individuals or families
  • retaliate against an individual or family for filing a fair-housing complaint
  • and any other form of housing discrimination

For more info on what is prohibited, visit Housing Discrimination Under the Fair Housing Act.

Offcanvas Logo